Today I am grateful for my glasses – may they rest in pieces :o)

In 2011 I was homeless. Cocoa - Furby - Honey

Me and my two large dogs lived about 2 months in a parking lot, in a car that didn’t run.

When I was homeless, one of my biggest fears, and there were a LOT of them, but one of my biggest fears was breaking my glasses.

EVERY – SINGLE – TIME that I dropped my glasses and they DIDN’T break, the relief and gratitude that washed over me was indescribable.

Such a GIFT I had been given, each time that my glasses did not break. — If you can’t really see, how do you go on to even the next MINUTE of your life? How do you even go about walking into a 7-11 to go to the bathroom without your glasses, much less go about finding a way to get them fixed or replaced with no money? Every time I bumped them or dropped them, I held my breath. And every time, they didn’t break.

And every time I was SO, VERY, VERY GRATEFUL 😀

I am currently grateful and blessed to have a temporary place to live.

And even now, when I drop my glasses, I hold my breath, but the terror is not there. And I am very grateful for that.

. . . This morning, in my temporary kitchen, I took off my glasses, washed my face and decide to wipe my lenses with the damp towel that I dried my face with, and the metal frame of my glasses gently snapped in my hands, and the lens fell out.

It was like an old friend ‘passing’ quietly in my arms. A friend who has had my back for years, without faltering or abandoning me. My glasses have been like a fellow soldier in my war against my own homelessness. Their good job is now done and I can’t tell you how grateful I am for their ‘service’.

I am so grateful that they stayed strong for me when I needed them most.
And the torch will be passed.

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

2 thoughts on “Today I am grateful for my glasses – may they rest in pieces :o)

Leave a comment